The Jefferson County Democratic Executive Committee’s primary role is to encourage County residents to register to vote and support Democratic candidates. The Committee works with other Democratic organizations in the county, region, state, and nation to promote the Democratic platform, ideals, and candidate slate; however, as a state political action committee, JCDEC may only provide financial aid to candidates for offices within West Virginia. The JCDEC is composed of  a male and female member representing each magisterial district.


Chairman John Maxey
Vice Chairwoman Cheryl Lawrence
Treasurer Ann Paonessa
Secretary vacant


District Members
Charles Town Rod Snyder and Ann Paonessa
Harpers Ferry John R. Maxey and Cheri Casari
Kabletown Doug Stolipher and Nance Briscoe
Middleway H.S. Leigh Koonce and Kay Bresee
Shepherdstown Stephen Skinner and Cheryl S. Lawrence

Meetings are the 4th Monday of every month, 7 pm, County Meeting Room – Interested Democrats are welcome to attend.
State Executive Committee members: Cheryl S. Lawrence and Stephen Skinner.