Jefferson County Democrat of the Year​

2020: Andrew W. Mollohan

Every year each county in West Virginia is asked by the WV Democratic Party to select one outstanding Democrat who has offered an outsized contribution of time and hard work the previous year. This Democrat of the Year is honored in his or her home county as well as in Charleston at the state Roosevelt-Kennedy Dinner.

Past Recipients

2019: Amy Lindsey
2018: Robyn Harrison-Taft
2017: Emma Lindsey-Severns
2016: H.S. Leigh Koonce
2015: not awarded
2014: Terry Thorson
2013: Sarah Orrick
2012: Cheryl S. Lawrence
2011: Robert E. “Bobby” Ott
2010: Rod Snyder
2009: Herb Snyder
2008: Virginia Lynch Graf
2007: Gail C. Boober
2006: J. Michael Cassell
2005: Allison Alsdorf
2004: Robert C. “Bob” Tabb
2003: G. Warren “Jim” Mickey
2002: Dale Manuel
2001: G. Warren “Jim” Mickey
2000: Everett “Ed” Boober
1999: C. Locke Wysong, Jr.
1998: R. Gregory Lance
1997: Kay Bresee
1996: Reva N. Mickey
1995: F. B. “Mike” Wysong, Jr.
1994: not awarded
1993: Henry W. Morrow
1992: John E. Ott
1991: Lyle C. Tabb
1990: Gary M. Kable
1989: Joseph Christian, Jr.
1988: Margie Johnston
1987: Bianca M. James

Congressman Harley O. Staggers, Sr.
Award for Exemplary Service

Created in 2014 by the Jefferson County Democratic Executive Committee, the “Staggers Award” is named for the former Congressman who served West Virginia from 1949 until 1981. The award highlights a Democrat who has given decades of continuous service to the party and community in a variety of arenas. The award is always presented by a member of the Staggers Family. Past presenters include former Congressman Harley Staggers, Jr., Danny Staggers, Bryan Staggers, and H. Orrin Staggers, III.

2020 Recipient: John Doyle

Past Recipients

2019: Reva N. Mickey & Bill Senseney

2018: Cheryl S. Lawrence

2017: Pete Dougherty

2016: Dale Manuel

2014: Kay Bresee

Mary Everhart-Koonce Catalyst Award

This award was established by the Eastern Panhandle Young Democrats in 2016 and whose namesake held leadership positions in and was active with all four Jefferson County Democratic organizations beginning in the early 1970s. Originally the award highlighted a community member who acted as a catalyst to involve young people in the Democratic Party. It then shifted to recognize an outstanding Young Democrat each year.

Past Recipients:

2018: Angelo Cocchiaro

2017: Samuel H. Brown, VII

2016: Reva N. Mickey